Meet the board

Tom O'Dowd (Chairperson)

Tom O'Dowd is a general practitioner in Dublin and is emeritus professor of General Practice in Trinity College Dublin. He served on the Medical Council and was Chair of the Education Committee that led to the current professionalisation of medical education in Ireland. He has pioneered a model multidisciplinary academic primary care centre that caters for the health and social needs of a deprived population.  He is currently Vice President of the Irish College of General Practitioners.

Anastasia Crickley

Anastasia Crickley is former Chairperson of the UN Committee for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD). She is former Head of Department of Applied Social Studies at Maynooth University, a founder member of the Migrants Rights Centre Ireland and of the National Traveller Women’s Forum, Anastasia is chairperson of Pavee Point Traveller and Roma Centre and of Community Work Ireland.

Gwendolen Morgan

Gwendolen Morgan is a solicitor with the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission. Before returning to Ireland in 2015, Gwendolen worked in Tanzania for the European Centre for Electoral Support, and in public interest law in London for over a decade with strategic litigation firm, Bindmans LLP, and the British Institute of Human Rights. She is a member of the International Senior Lawyers Project, and previous recipient of the Trinity Praeses Elit award for advocacy and commitment to causes.

Carl Nelkin

Carl Nelkin is an active member of the Irish Jewish community, giving concerts of Irish and Jewish music. Carl also serves regularly as a Cantor and, in the past, has served at various locations in the United States and Great Britain as well as in Dublin. He is an Irish qualified solicitor with over 30 years’ experience focusing exclusively on the aviation industry.

Robert Gerwarth

Robert Gerwarth is Professor of Modern History at University College Dublin and Director of UCD's Centre for War Studies. He held visiting fellowships at Harvard, the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, the European University Institute in Florence and Sciences Po Paris. He is an elected member of the Royal Irish Academy and the Academia Europaea. Originally from Berlin, Robert has taught the history of Nazi Germany and the Holocaust for the last fifteen years and has published widely including ‘Hitler’s Hangman, the Life of Heydrich’ (Yale University Press).

Melanie Brown

Melanie Brown lectures in the School of History and Humanities, Trinity College, Dublin. Her research includes Irish Jewish history, identity politics in respect of ethnic and cultural minorities in Ireland, and the role of liturgical music in religious and cultural identity. Melanie was formerly the Resident Composer with the National Chamber Choir, and currently sings with the RTE Philharmonic Choir.  She has written a number of Holocaust-themed works, including  the award-winning short opera 'Treblinka'.   Melanie is a member of the Dublin City Interfaith Forum. 

Kevin McCarthy

Kevin McCarthy is a retired civil servant and a former teacher. He has been involved with HETI and the Department of Education and Skills (DES) collaborative projects. He served on the Irish delegation to IHRA and also as Irish educational representative at the Council of Europe in national and EU citizenship education initiatives, that included Holocaust education. Kevin coordinated the education sector's involvement in the Ireland 2016 commemorations and has had considerable experience across a wide range of curricular initiatives in Irish education.